Picto REACH_edited.png

REACH

DYNAMICS OF THE IMMUNE RESPONSE AND CLIMATE CHANGE ADAPTATION

The REACH team aims at deciphering the molecular bases of the interaction between pathogens and their host plants in the context of climate change. Pathogen perception mediated by intracellular immune receptor of the NLR (nucleotide-binding Leucine rich repeat receptor) family constitutes a crucial step determining the issue of the interaction. Upon pathogen effector recognition, NLRs initiate effector-triggered immunity (ETI) that involves a rebooting of PTI-associated transcriptional reprogramming and often localized host cell death at sites of attempted pathogen infection.

Despite intensive efforts in the field, a major gap remains in our understanding of (i) how NLRs are activated by specific pathogen effectors and (ii) how the active state of these receptors connect to downstream signaling events occurring during ETI. To address those fundamental questions, we use use  complementary cellular biology, molecular genetic, genomic and biochemical approaches toinvestigate the molecular events involved in ETI conditioned by plant immune receptors.

 In a context of global climate change, expanding our knowledge of the interplay between plant immunity and temperature elevation is critical for developing sustainable disease resistance strategies. This includes investigating the crosstalk between NLR-mediated immunity and temperature stress responses and the identification and characterization of yet uncovered genetic sources confering robust resistance

illustration_LD.jpg
 

RESEARCH THEMES

Main research axes currently developed in the REACH group :

 

- Virulence activities of bacterial effectors (L. Deslandes, V. Pacquit)

 

- Nuclear activities of a plant immune receptor complex (D. Tremousaygue, L. Deslandes, P. Dabos)

 

- NLR-mediated immunity at the root-level (M. Marchetti)

 

- Sensing and signalling activities of plant NLRs under heat stress (M. Bernoux, C. Vicédo)

 

- Genetic bases of robust resistances and alternatives to face pathogens in fluctuating climates (R. Berthomé)

 

MEMBERS

Heloise Demont

PhD student

name

Status

Matilda Zaffuto

CDD

name

Status

 

PUBLICATIONS

DYNAMIC LIST

Picto REACH_edited.png

REACH

DYNAMIQUE DE LA REPONSE IMMUNITAIRE ET ADAPTATION AU CHANGEMENT CLIMATIQUE

L'équipe REACH vise à déchiffrer les bases moléculaires de l'interaction entre les agents pathogènes et leurs plantes hôtes dans le contexte du changement climatique. La perception des pathogènes médiée par les récepteurs immunitaires intracellulaires de la famille NLR (nucleotide-binding Leucine rich repeat receptor) constitue une étape cruciale déterminant l'enjeu de l'interaction. Lors de la reconnaissance de l'effecteur pathogène, les NLR initient l'immunité déclenchée par l'effecteur (ETI) qui implique un redémarrage de la reprogrammation transcriptionnelle associée à la PTI et souvent la mort localisée des cellules hôtes aux sites de tentative d'infection par le pathogène.

     Malgré les efforts intenses déployés dans ce domaine, il reste encore beaucoup à faire pour comprendre (i) comment les NLR sont activés par des effecteurs pathogènes spécifiques et (ii) comment l'état actif de ces récepteurs est lié aux événements de signalisation en aval qui se produisent pendant l'ETI. Pour répondre à ces questions fondamentales, nous utilisons des approches complémentaires de biologie cellulaire, de génétique moléculaire, de génomique et de biochimie permettant d’étudier les événements moléculaires impliqués dans l'ETI conditionnée par les récepteurs immunitaires des plantes.

   Dans un contexte de changement climatique global, il est essentiel d'élargir nos connaissances sur l'interaction entre l'immunité des plantes et l'élévation de la température pour développer des stratégies durables de résistance aux maladies. Cela inclut l'étude de l'interaction entre l'immunité médiée par les NLR et les réponses au stress thermique, ainsi que l'identification et la caractérisation de sources génétiques encore inconnues conférant une résistance robuste.

illustration_LD.jpg
 

THÈMES DE RECHERCHE

 

 Principaux axes de recherche développés actuellement: 

- Activités de virulence d'effecteurs bactériens (L. Deslandes, V. Pacquit)

 

- Activités nucléaires d'un complexe récepteur immun chez les végétaux (D. Tremousaygue, L. Deslandes, P. Dabos)

 

- L'immunité médiée par les NLRs au niveau des racines (M. Marchetti)

 

- Activités de détection et de signalisation des NLRs des plantes en cas de stress thermique (M. Bernoux, C. Vicédo)

 

- Bases génétiques des résistances robustes et alternatives pour faire face aux pathogènes dans des climats fluctuants (R. Berthomé)

 

MEMBRES

REACH_Valérie-Pacquit_WEB.jpg

Valérie Pacquit

Maître de conférence UT3-Paul Sabatier

REACH_Heloise-Demont_WEB.jpg

Héloïse Demont

Doctorante

Image-empty-state.png

Nom

Statut

REACH_Matilda-Zaffuto_WEB.jpg

Matilda Zaffuto

CDD

Image-empty-state.png

Nom

Statut

 

PUBLICATIONS

LISTE