Accueil_symevol_V2.png

SYMEVOL

SYMBIOTIC FUNCTIONS, GENOMES AND EVOLUTION OF RHIZOBIA

Delphine Capela

Our team is interested in the molecular and evolutionary mechanisms involved in the establishment of the rhizobium-legume symbiosis, mainly focussing on the bacterial partner.

 

Rhizobia do not form a homogeneous taxonomic group but belong to more than ten genera and hundreds of different species among the α- and β-proteobacteria. Phylogenetic, genetic and genomic data predict that rhizobia evolved through lateral transfer of key symbiotic functions in various soil bacteria, followed by adaptation of the host genome to the legume niche by natural selection. The post-transfer adaptation mechanisms and genetic predispositions required, if any, for the conversion of these soil bacteria into effective legume symbionts are not known.

Our work seeks to understand the emergence and evolution of these mutualistic interactions by addressing two questions:

i) how the symbiotic capacity was disseminated to very different genera of bacteria

ii) what molecular events have accompanied the genesis of this symbiosis on the plant side?

For this, we are studying the Cupriavidus taiwanensis-Mimosa pudica model, a symbiosis predicted to have  emerged relatively recently (around 12 to 16 million years ago) and representative of the symbioses of the Mimosoideae subclade. We use molecular genetics, genomics and experimental evolution approaches.

Illustration1.png
 

RESEARCH THEMES

Experimental evolution of the phytopathogenic bacterium Ralstonia solanacearum into legume symbionts

Over 10 years ago, the team launched an evolutionary experiment, pioneering internationally, aimed at reproducing the evolution of a new genus of rhizobia under laboratory conditions, based on the natural evolutionary history of these bacteria. For this, we introduced the symbiotic plasmid of the rhizobium Cupriavidus taiwanensis into a non-rhizobium bacterium of a related genus, Ralstonia solanacearum.

 

The resulting chimeric Ralstonia was evolved under selection pressure from the host plant of C. taiwanensis, Mimosa pudica, with the aim of activating and / or successively improving the various symbiotic stages, namely nodulation, infection, and persistence of bacteria in plant cells and possibly mutualistic nitrogen fixation. This experience and its analysis have already enabled major advances in the understanding of the evolution of rhizobia. The team has indeed shown that: i) the first two stages of the symbiosis, nodulation and intracellular infection, were rapidly acquired and optimized, the clones isolated from most of the final populations exhibiting similar infection capacities. those of the natural rhizobium C. taiwanensis after 17 cycles of evolution (approximately 400 generations) (Marchetti et al. 2017), ii) the extracellular pathogeny-intracellular symbiosis transition was based on modifications of the regulatory network of the recipient bacterium (Marchetti et al. 2010, Guan et al. 2013, Capela et al. 2017, Tang et al. 2020), iii) the co-transfer of the symbiotic genes with mutability genes present on the symbiotic plasmid accelerates the evolution of rhizobia in the laboratory and probably also in nature (Remigi et al. 2014), iv) nodulation cycles longer than 21 days are favorable to the emergence of nitrogen fixation (Daubech et al. 2017) and finally v) the flight The natural use and experimental evolution of Mimosa symbionts show notable similarities despite differences in ancestors, evolution times and conditions (Clerissi et al. 2018).

This experiment continues in the team with the idea of ​​continuing the adaptation of bacteria to the symbiosis potentially until mutualism is obtained. The experiment is now analyzed in a more dynamic and exhaustive way by combining approaches of sequencing populations of bacteria, microbial genetics, phenotyping and modeling. The aim of this project is to identify not only the genetic bases for the adaptation of bacteria to symbiosis and the pathogenesis-symbiosis transition, but also the selection forces that have driven the evolution of legume symbionts.

Shaping new bacterial symbionts

Analysis of plant transcriptomic responses to the adaptation of bacteria to endosymbiosis

The objective of this project is to exploit the unique biological material generated by the evolutionary experiment to analyze the plant responses to bacterial evolution. A collection of quasi-isogenic Ralstonia mutants is constructed as the adaptive mutations responsible for the acquisition of symbiotic traits are identified.

 

The transcriptomes of Mimosa pudica obtained with the various mutants of Ralstonia progressively adapted to the symbiosis are compared with the transcriptomes of Mimosa obtained with the natural symbiont C. taiwanensis.

 

This project aims to identify the plant molecular mechanisms that control these different processes (nodulation, infection, persistence and mutualism), and potentially to predict the sequence of plant molecular events that accompanied the genesis of the rhizobium-legume symbiosis.

Collaborations

Our main collaborators are PM Delaux (LRSV, Toulouse), JB Ferdy (EDB, Toulouse), C. Pouzet and A. Leru (Imaging platform Toulouse), E. Rocha (Pasteur Institute, Paris) and D. Roche (Genoscope-CEA , Evry).

Ongoing funding

SPE INRAE ​​EPIMODE (2021-2022) Impact of epigenetic modifications in bacterial adaptation to a new way of life. Partner: A. Guidot (LIPME), 15 k €.

FRAIB DYNAMIC (2021-2022) Evolutionary dynamics of bacterial adaptation to symbiosis with legumes. Partner: JB Ferdy (EDB, Toulouse), € 15k.

ANR REPLAY (2017-2021) Replaying the evolution of rhizobia: towards a conceptual and practical framework for the design of new nitrogen-fixing plant symbionts. Partners: Genoscope (D. Roche), IP Paris (E. Rocha), 460 k €.

 

MEMBERS

Accueil_symevol_V2.png

SYMEVOL

FONCTIONS SYMBIOTIQUES, GENOMES ET EVOLUTION DES RHIZOBIA

Delphine Capela

Notre équipe s’intéresse aux mécanismes moléculaires et évolutifs impliqués dans l’établissement de la symbiose rhizobium-légumineuse, en étudiant principalement le partenaire bactérien.

Les rhizobia ne forment pas un groupe taxonomique homogène mais appartiennent à plus d’une dizaine de genres et des centaines d’espèces différentes parmi les α- et β-protéobactéries. Les données phylogénétiques, génétiques et génomiques prédisent que les rhizobia auraient évolué grâce au transfert latéral de fonctions symbiotiques clé dans diverses bactéries du sol, suivi de l’adaptation du génome d’accueil à la niche légumineuse par sélection naturelle. Les mécanismes d’adaptation post-transfert et les prédispositions génétiques requises, si elles existent, pour la conversion de ces bactéries du sol en symbiotes efficaces de légumineuses ne sont pas connus.

Nos travaux cherchent à comprendre l’émergence et l’évolution de ces interactions mutualistes en traitant deux questions :

i) comment la capacité symbiotique s’est disséminée à des genres de bactéries très différents

ii) quels événements moléculaires ont accompagné la genèse de cette symbiose côté plante ?

Pour cela, nous étudions le modèle Cupriavidus taiwanensis-Mimosa pudica, une symbiose qui aurait émergé relativement récemment (il y a environ 12 à 16 millions d’années) et représentative des symbioses du sous-clade des Mimosoideae. Nous utilisons des approches de génétique moléculaire, de génomique et d’évolution expérimentale.

Illustration1.png
 

THÈMES DE RECHERCHE

Evolution expérimentale de la bactérie phytopathogène Ralstonia solanacearum en symbiotes de légumineuse

Il y a plus de 10 ans, l’équipe a lancé une expérience d’évolution, pionnière à l’échelle internationale, visant à reproduire l’évolution d’un nouveau genre de rhizobia en conditions de laboratoire, en se basant sur l’histoire évolutive naturelle de ces bactéries. Pour cela, nous avons introduit le plasmide symbiotique du rhizobium Cupriavidus taiwanensis dans une bactérie non rhizobium d’un genre voisin, Ralstonia solanacearum.

 

Le Ralstonia chimère obtenu a été évolué sous pression de sélection de la plante hôte de C. taiwanensis, Mimosa pudica, avec pour objectif d’activer et/ou améliorer successivement les différentes étapes symbiotiques que sont la nodulation, l’infection, la persistance des bactéries dans les cellules végétales et éventuellement la fixation mutualiste de l’azote. Cette expérience et son analyse ont déjà permis des avancées majeures dans la compréhension de l’évolution des rhizobia. L’équipe a en effet montré que : i) les deux premières étapes de la symbiose, la nodulation et l’infection intracellulaire, ont été rapidement acquises et optimisées, les clones isolés de la plupart des populations finales présentant des capacités d’infection proches de celles du rhizobium naturel C. taiwanensis après 17 cycles d’évolution (soit environ 400 générations) (Marchetti et al. 2017), ii) la transition pathogénie extracellulaire-symbiose intracellulaire a reposé sur des modifications du réseau de régulation de la bactérie receveuse (Marchetti et al. 2010, Guan et al. 2013, Capela et al. 2017, Tang et al. 2020), iii) le co-transfert des gènes symbiotiques avec des gènes de mutabilité présents sur le plasmide symbiotique accélère l’évolution des rhizobia au laboratoire et vraisemblablement également dans la nature (Remigi et al. 2014), iv) des cycles de nodulation supérieurs à 21 jours sont favorables à l’émergence de la fixation d’azote (Daubech et al. 2017) et enfin v) l’évolution naturelle et l’évolution expérimentale des symbiotes de Mimosa présentent des similitudes notables malgré les différences d’ancêtres, de temps d’évolution et de conditions (Clerissi et al. 2018).

Cette expérience se poursuit dans l’équipe avec l’idée de continuer l’adaptation des bactéries à la symbiose potentiellement jusqu’à l’obtention du mutualisme. L’expérience est désormais analysée de façon plus dynamique et plus exhaustive en combinant des approches de séquençage des populations de bactéries, de génétique microbienne, de phénotypage et de modélisation. Ce projet a pour but d’identifier non seulement les bases génétiques de l’adaptation des bactéries à la symbiose et de la transition pathogénie-symbiose, mais aussi les forces de sélection qui ont dirigé l’évolution des symbiotes de légumineuses.

Shaping new bacterial symbionts

Analyse des réponses transcriptomiques végétales à l’adaptation des bactéries à l’endosymbiose

L’objectif de ce projet est d’exploiter le matériel biologique unique généré par l’expérience d’évolution pour analyser les réponses végétales à l’évolution bactérienne. Une collection de mutants quasi-isogéniques de Ralstonia est construite au fur et à mesure que les mutations adaptatives responsables de l’acquisition de traits symbiotiques sont identifiées.

 

Les transcriptomes de Mimosa pudica obtenus avec les différents mutants de Ralstonia progressivement adaptés à la symbiose sont comparés aux transcriptomes de Mimosa obtenus avec le symbiote naturel C. taiwanensis.

 

Ce projet a pour but d’identifier les mécanismes moléculaires végétaux qui contrôlent ces différents processus (nodulation, infection, persistance et mutualisme), et potentiellement de prédire la séquence des évènements moléculaires végétaux ayant accompagné la genèse de la symbiose rhizobium-légumineuse.

Collaborations

Nos principaux collaborateurs sont P.M. Delaux (LRSV, Toulouse), J.B. Ferdy (EDB, Toulouse), C. Pouzet et A. Leru (Imaging platform Toulouse), E. Rocha (Pasteur Institute, Paris) et D. Roche (Genoscope-CEA, Evry).

Financements en cours

SPE INRAE EPIMODE (2021-2022) Impact des modifications épigénétiques dans l’adaptation bactérienne à un nouveau mode de vie. Partenaire : A. Guidot (LIPME), 15 k€.

FRAIB DYNAMIC (2021-2022) Evolutionary dynamics of bacterial adaptation to symbiosis with legumes. Partenaire: J.B. Ferdy (EDB, Toulouse), 15 k€.

ANR REPLAY (2017-2021) Replaying the evolution of rhizobia: towards a conceptual and practical framework for the design of new nitrogen-fixing plant symbionts. Partenaires: Genoscope (D. Roche), IP Paris (E. Rocha), 460 k€.

 

MEMBRES