Labo2.jpg

We are

The Laboratory of Plants Microbes and Environment Interactions (LIPME), created in 1981, is a combined INRA-CNRS Research Unit, attached to the CNRS Institutes of Biological Sciences (INSB) and Ecology & Environment (INEE), as well as to the INRAE Departments of Plant Health & Environment (SPE) and Biology & Plant Breeding (BAP).

From the outset, the LIPME has focused its research on the interactions between plants and either symbiotic or pathogenic microbes, co-ordinating studies on both plant and microbial partners. This research is performed using a small number of model species (Arabidopsis thaliana, Medicago truncatula), and more recently model plants of agronomic importance such as sunflower, tomato and soybean

These studies allow us to address key biological questions concerning the determinants which control pathogenic/symbiotic associations, the mechanisms of host infection, inter- and intra-organism signaling, developmental programs, regulation of gene expression and finally the mechanisms of metabolic adaptation. Bacterial and plant genome organization is also a theme that we are actively studying using both bioinformatic and genomic approaches.

New research topics at the LIPME are aimed at understanding evolutionary and adaptative processes, and in particular concerning host specificity and the relationship between mutualism and pathogenesis.

The LIPME addresses scientific questions which have a major impact on agriculture and the environment. In the long-term, our research aims to provide new concepts and tools in the struggle against bio-agressors. Symbiotic interactions play an essential role in the provision of essential nutrients to legume plants, the importance of which is now being rediscovered in agronomical, economical, environmental and nutritional contexts.

The LIPME is part of a Research Federation (FR AIB), which brings together the principle plant biology and ecology laboratories in the Toulouse area, mainly located on the INRAE campus at Auzeville.

The LIPME is also a key component of the LabEx (TULIP) aiming at establishing high quality research and education in the field of ecology and plant biology in the French Midi-Pyrénées region.

ORGANIZATIONAL CHART

DIRECTION

Director: Laurent Noël

Deputy Director: Nemo Peeters

Root endosymbioses

Plant-Pathogen-Environment Interactions

PHYLLOSYM

Aurelien Carlier

PHYLLOSYM

Aurelien Carlier

SMS

Clare gough

RAP

Stephane genin

SIX

Laurent Noel

SPI

Stephane Muñoz

ENOD

Fernanda de Carvalho and

Andreas Niebel

Environment

EFIS

Benoit Lefebvre

RLE

Claude bruand

QIP

Sylvain Raffaele

ECOGEN

Fabrice Roux

REACH

Laurent Deslandes

ASTR

Nicolas langlade

Platforms

TPMP - Toulouse Plant-Microbe Phenotyping Plateform

Nemo peeters

CRBT- Sunflower Biological Resource Center

Marie-Claude Boniface

Computer science and bioinformatics

Jerome Gouzy

Collective services

Executive assistant

Fanny marion

Administrative and financial service

Sandrine Barrere

Workshops

Philippe Luis

Laundromat and media preparation

Christian Pince

Plant production and experimentation

Fabrice Devoilles

Plant transgenesis

Celine Rembliere

Labo2.jpg

Qui sommes nous

Le Laboratoire des Interactions Plantes-Microbes-Environnement (LIPME), créé en 1981, est une Unité Mixte de Recherche CNRS-INRAE, actuellement rattachée à l'Institut des Sciences Biologiques (INSB) et à l’Institut Ecologie et Environnement (INEE) du CNRS ainsi qu’aux départements Santé des Plantes et Environnement (SPE) et Biologie et Amélioration des Plantes (BAP) de l'INRAE.

Depuis sa création, le LIPME a comme champ de recherche prioritaire les interactions entre les plantes et les micro-organismes symbiotiques ou pathogènes, par des études concertées des partenaires microbiens et végétaux. Ces recherches sont réalisées sur un petit nombre d’espèces modèles (Arabidopsis thaliana, Medicago truncatula), mais aussi plus récemment sur des modèles d’intérêt agronomique tels le Tournesol, la Tomate, le soja.

Ces études nous permettent d'aborder des questions biologiques centrales, relatives aux déterminants du pouvoir pathogène et symbiotique, aux mécanismes infectieux, aux processus de signalisation inter- et intra-organismes, aux programmes de développement, au contrôle de l'expression génique ou enfin aux mécanismes d'adaptation métabolique.

 

L'organisation des génomes bactériens et végétaux est aussi une problématique que nous abordons, par les approches de la bioinformatique et de la génomique.

De nouveaux axes de recherche concernent la compréhension des processus d’évolution et d’adaptation des organismes, en posant notamment les questions de la relation entre mutualisme et pathogénèse et de spécificité d’hôtes.

Le LIPME aborde donc des problématiques qui ont un impact fort sur l'agriculture et l'environnement. Ses recherches ouvrent comme perspectives finalisées, l'émergence de nouveaux concepts et outils de lutte contre les bioagresseurs. Les interactions symbiotiques jouent un rôle essentiel dans la nutrition minérale des légumineuses, dont on redécouvre aujourd'hui les multiples intérêts sur le plan agronomique, économique, environnemental et nutritionnel.

Le LIPME appartient à une Fédération de Recherche (FR AIB), qui rassemble les principaux laboratoires de biologie végétale et d’écologie de Toulouse, situés pour la plupart d’entre eux sur le campus d'Auzeville du Centre INRAE Occitanie-Toulouse.

Le LIPME est également une composante importante du LabEx (Laboratoire d'Excellence, Investissement d'Avenir) TULIP qui vise à ancrer une recherche et un enseignement de haute qualité dans le domaine de l'écologie et de la biologie végétale.

ORGANIGRAMME

DIRECTION

Directeur : Laurent Noël

Directeur adjoint : Nemo Peeters

Mutualisme

Parasitisme

Plateformes

SYMEVOL

Delphine Capela

RAP

Stéphane Génin

TPMP - Toulouse Plant-Microbe Phenotyping Plateform

Nemo Peeters

PHYLLOSYM

Aurélien Carlier

SIX

Laurent Noël

CRBT- Centre de Ressources Biologiques du tournesol

Marie-Claude Boniface

SMS

Clare Gough et Sandra Bensmihen

SPI

Stéphane Muños

Informatique et bioinformatique

Jérôme Gouzy

ENOD

Fernanda de Carvalho-Niebel et Andreas Niebel

Environnement

EFIS

Benoit Lefebvre

RLE

Claude Bruand

QIP

Sylvain Raffaele

ECOGEN

Fabrice Roux et Fabienne Vailleau

REACH

Laurent Deslandes

ASTR

Nicolas Langlade

Services collectifs

Assistante de direction

Fanny Marion

Service administratif et financier

Sandrine Barrère

Maintenance des équipements Conduite des instruments

Philippe Luis

Laverie et préparation des milieux

Christian Pince

Production et expérimentation végétales

Fabrice Devoilles

Transgénèse végétale

Céline Remblière