BIOINFO

BIOINFORMATICS

 
phylogeneticTreeweb.png

The objectives of the platform are to provide bioinformatics solutions to meet the needs of users and collaborators but also to develop new tools and environments for the analysis of biology data; particularly for genome and diversity studies.

ACTIVITIES

Our oldest expertise is in the annotation of genomes. We have contributed to the development of EuGene, FrameD / FrameDP software (collaboration Thomas Schiex, MIAT) for the structural annotation of genomes. In recent years, we have trained many bioinformatic colleagues in their use.

After the assembly, structural and functional annotation of genomes, we maintain over the long term several genome portals, both for symbionts, pathogens and plants (the model legume Medicago truncatula, Sunflower, Rose, etc.).

At the post-genomic level, we develop integrative analysis environments and knowledge bases (Legoo, EffectorK, etc.) to integrate high-throughput heterogeneous data and / or knowledge. Another axis of integration concerns the modeling of metabolic and regulatory networks, in particular through the MetExplore project (collaboration Fabien Jourdan, TOXALIM).

We are currently developing an environment for studying the diversity of cultivated species through the construction and exploitation of allele catalogs (Atlas).

Beyond our developments, we offer analysis protocols for epigenetic studies in plants and bacteria, transcriptomic analyzes, analyzes of diversity based on SNPs, functional annotation of proteins, etc.

Our sequence data management plan exploits the Archive environment that we have been developing for a decade. Archive allows us to collect data and metadata as close as possible to the production in order to manage the full data lifecycle, from acquisition to publication (in public databases or by generating an Archive doi).

At the technological level, our recent development projects are based on the Apache Spark ‘Big data’ architecture which unifies methods of data analysis, distributed computing and coupling with data organized in data lakes. Our 1152 HT Spark computing cluster can also be used in SGE mode.

Our publications/contributions

Our developments and funding supports

BIOINFO

BIOINFORMATIQUE

 
phylogeneticTreeweb.png

Les objectifs de la plateforme sont de proposer des solutions bioinformatiques pour répondre aux besoins des utilisateurs et collaborateurs mais aussi de développer de nouveaux outils et environnements pour l’analyse informatisée des données de la biologie et particulièrement pour l’étude des génomes et de la diversité des espèces.

ACTIVITÉS

Notre expertise la plus ancienne porte sur l’annotation des génomes. Nous avons ainsi contribué au développement des logiciels EuGène, FrameD/FrameDP (collaboration Thomas Schiex, MIAT) pour l’annotation structurale des génomes. Ces dernières années, nous avons formé de nombreux collègues bioinformaticiens à leur utilisation.

 

Suite à l’assemblage, l’annotation structurale et fonctionnelle des génomes, nous maintenons sur le long terme plusieurs portails génomes, aussi bien pour des symbiotes, des pathogènes que des plantes (la légumineuse modèle Medicago truncatula, Tournesol, Rose, etc.).

 

Au niveau post-génomique, nous développons des environnements d’analyses intégratifs et des bases de connaissances (Legoo, EffectorK, etc.) pour intégrer des données hétérogènes haut-débit et/ou des connaissances. Un autre axe d’intégration porte sur la modélisation des réseaux métaboliques et de régulation, en particulier à travers le projet MetExplore (collaboration Fabien Jourdan, TOXALIM).

 

Nous développons actuellement un environnement pour l’étude de la diversité des espèces cultivés à travers la construction et l’exploitation des catalogues d’allèles (Atlas).

 

Au-delà de nos développements nous proposons des protocoles d’analyses pour les études épigénétiques chez les plantes et les bactéries, les analyses transcriptomiques, les analyses de diversités SNP, l’annotation fonctionnelle des protéines, etc.

 

Notre plan de gestion des données de séquence exploite l’environnement Archive que nous développons depuis une décennie. Archive nous permet de collecter données et metadonnées au plus près de la production afin de gérer le cycle de vie de la données, de l’acquisition jusqu’à la publication (dans les bases de données publiques ou en générant un doi Archive).

 

Au niveau technologique, nos projets de développement récents sont basés sur l’architecture ‘Big data’ Apache Spark qui unifie de nombreuses méthodes d’analyses des données, le calcul distribué et le couplage à des données organisées dans des lacs de données. Notre cluster de calcul Spark de 1152 HT est également utilisable en mode SGE.

Nos publications/contributions

Nos développements et financements